Pulaski County Library System Board of Trustees Meeting July 28, 2020

Pulaski County Public Library

Trustees Present: Parks Lanier, Jr.; Meagan Pratt; Jennifer McCarthy; Jan booker Trustees Absent: Lynne Clark; Drew Foxx; Margaret Spradlin; Kevin Siers; Ashley Hale Staff Present: Taylor Quesenberry; Justine Farlow; Carol Smith; Sally Warburton

- I. Call to Order: Jennifer McCarthy, Chair, called the meeting to order at 4:30 pm at the Pulaski Library. This was the first meeting since the beginning of COVID-19 pandemic and took place on the floor of the library's main room so 6 feet of physical distancing could be maintained between each attendee. Everyone wore a face mask. Since there was not a quorum, no votes were taken.
- II. Approval of Minutes: no vote was taken
- III. Library Reports: Copies of the reports are kept at the Pulaski Library
- IV. Follow-up from Previous Meeting and Other Reports
 - A. Introduction of officers: Jennifer McCarthy was elected Chair and Meagan Pratt, vice-chair at the last board meeting
 - B. 2020 Census: the pandemic has derailed our work to help people complete the census. Pulaski County is at 60% self-response rate.
 - C. New sign for Pulaski Library: Sally showed an artist rendering that Sign System has developed for the front of the library.

V. New Business

- A. Report on basic changes to library services due to COVID-19 include shortened library hours, physical distancing of staff and customers, a mask requirement, and no programming.
- B. Plans for the future include opening more computers for public use as well as getting periodicals back into use, and increasing hours open to the public. We hope to keep the library open even though the number of cases in Southwest Virginia continues to rise.
- C. Approval of job description: tabled
- D. Strategic 5-Year Plan: tabled
- E. Other: Trustees discussed students using the wi-fi and public access computers this fall.
- VI. Adjournment: There being no further discussion, the meeting ended at 5:15. The next meeting is scheduled to take place on September 29, 2020 at 4:30 dependent upon coronavirus restrictions.

Respectfully submitted, Jennifer McCarthy, Chair Sally Warburton, Recorder

Approved: September 29, 2020