Library Board

The Pulaski County Board of Trustees meets on the last Tuesday of the month except for the months of July and December. The meeting time is 4:30 p.m. and the location alternates between the Pulaski County and the Charles and Ona B. Free Memorial Libraries. For more information, please contact Sally Warburton, the library director, at 540-994-2451 or

Pulaski County Library Board of Trustees

Name Email District Term End
Lynne Clark Chair Robinson Dec. 31st, 2019 Replace a Trustee
Margaret Spradlin Vice Chair Cloyd Dec. 31st, 2022 2nd Term
Meagan Pratt Draper Dec. 31st, 2022 2nd Term
Jennifer McCarthy Draper Dec. 31st, 2019 Replace a Trustee
Lora Covey Ingles Dec. 31st, 2020 Replace a Trustee
Parks Lanier, Jr. Cloyd Dec. 31st, 2020 2nd Term
Jan Booker Robinson Dec. 31st, 2021 1st Term
Andrew Foxx Draper Dec. 31st, 2021 1st Term
Dr. Kevin Siers Superintendent of Schools Ex Officio


The Pulaski County Library System Board of Trustees is in the process of editing, updating and writing policy. Please find policy as it is approved in the links below.

Library Fund

The Pulaski County Public Library System received a generous donation in 1999/2000 from the estate of Winfield S. Smith. Mr. Smith was the son of Dr. Richard Smith, a local physician in Pulaski County many years ago and his first wife. Winfield Smith spent his teen years in Pulaski and frequented the Library often. He met Mrs. Grace Carnahan, the Librarian and Director of the Pulaski County Library and under Mrs. Carnahan’s tutelage, he became a great lover of books and a voracious reader. He felt Mrs. Carnahan ”saved his life” by encouraging him to read and sharing her enthusiasm for books. Professor Smith attributed being well informed and successful to being able to read and having books available throughout one’s life at the public library. Professor Smith remembered the Pulaski County Library System and several other libraries in his will.

Upon receiving the generous donation, the then members of the Pulaski County Library Board of Trustees voted to use these funds toward establishing a library building fund. In November 2005, the current Library Board of Trustees approved an agreement for the establishment of the “Pulaski County Library System Fund” with the Community Foundation of the New River Valley. The Foundation Board of Directors approved the agreement in December 2005. As of January 2006, there is now a “Pulaski County Library Fund” to which library patrons and other interested citizens may make donations in honor of a particular person or group, in memory of someone special or as a bequeath from one’s estate for the Library System and any special projects or programs that the Library may have.

The Community Foundation of the NRV is a publicly-supported, tax-exempt philanthropic organization. The Foundation administers funds established by donors for the long term. It makes grants from these funds to various non-profit community organizations. Community Foundations nationwide are the fastest growing groups of charitable organizations due to the diminishing federal, state and local assistance for their agencies serving the communities. The Community Foundation—NRV was founded in 1994 as a non-profit (501 (c) (3) organization that enhances the quality of life in the New River Valley. It has an all-volunteer board, representative of all areas of the New River Valley managing the Foundation and giving grants to community organizations. For more information on the Foundation go online at or call 540-381-8999.